Automatically restoring your Transmit workspace

State restoration is a feature of macOS that was first introduced in OS X 10.7 (Lion). When you open an app, it automatically re-opens the windows you were working with in their previous configuration.

Disabling state restoration from System Preferences

If you don’t want apps to automatically re-open documents and windows, select Close windows when quitting an application from the General pane of System Preferences.

Enabling state restoration for a specific app

After disabling global state restoration in System Preferences, you can enable it on a per-app basis (for any app) from the command line.

For Transmit 5 it would be:

$ defaults write com.panic.Transmit NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool TRUE

Temporarily overriding state restoration

To temporarily prevent an app from re-opening its documents and windows, hold the Shift key while you open the app.

Last updated January 25, 2017