Background Connections

How long can I stay connected when the app is running in the background?

We’ve designed our apps to maintain server connections for as long as possible. iOS policies permit up to 10 minutes of background time after the app is suspended or the device is locked. In practice this time can vary, but we request as much time as the system will allow.

When a background transfer is in progress you should see a notification to re-open the app before the connection is terminated. If this isn’t being displayed, please check to make sure that notifications for the app are enabled in the Settings.app.